Nationally recognized with a distinct tradition of developing leaders in a variety of musical fields, the Florida State University Tuba & Euphonium Studio is nestled within one of the most comprehensive College of Music programs in the country. Through individualized instruction, healthy competition, and an enthusiastic esprit-de-corps, every student in the studio is encouraged to make the most of their musical potential.

Under the direction of Dr. Justin Benavidez, the studio is comprised of students majoring in music performance, music education, music therapy, and music theory, totaling 26 undergraduate and graduate students from across the United States. All students participate in a tuba/euphonium chamber ensemble and attend weekly studio classes that cover a range of performance and pedagogical topics. 

The studio maintains an active performance schedule on and off campus. Studio ensembles have been invited for performances at the 2018 and 2020 Southeast Regional Tuba Euphonium Conferences, the 2019 United States Army Band Tuba Euphonium Workshop, and the 2019 International Tuba Euphonium Conference.

Prospective students interested in auditioning for the FSU Tuba and Euphonium Studio can find more information at our webpage.  





2020 Leonard Falcone Festival

Brandon Smith - Bronze Medalist, Artist Tuba Competition

Jonah Zimmerman - Silver Medalist, Artist Euphonium Competition

2020 International Euphonium Tuba Festival

Jonah Zimmerman - First Place Winner, Solo Artist Competition

2020 Southeast Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference (Kennesaw State University)

Anthony Borda - Finalist, Solo Tuba Young Artist Competition

Ian Graves - Finalist, Mock Tuba Audition

Brandon Smith - Finalist, Solo Tuba Artist Competition

Ryan Sorenson - Finalist, Solo Tuba Artist Competition

Austin Thornton - Finalist, Solo Euphonium Young Artist Competition

Jonah Zimmerman - Finalist, Mock Euphonium Audition

FSU Tuba/Euphonium Quartet (Ian Graves, Jordan Masone, Brandon Smith, Jonah Zimmerman) - Finalist, Chamber Music Competition

2020 Midwest Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference (University of Kentucky)

Jonah Zimmerman - Finalist, Mock Euphonium Audition; Finalist, Solo Euphonium Artist Competition

2020 United States Army Band National Collegiate Solo Competition

Jonah Zimmerman - Finalist (Euphonium)

2020 United States Army Band Tuba Euphonium Workshop Solo Tuba Competition

Brandon Smith - Finalist

2020 Online Brass Championships

Jonah Zimmerman - Best Euphonium; 9th Place Overall

2019 Leonard Falcone Festival

Ian McCollum - Semifinalist, Artist Euphonium Competition

2019 International Tuba Euphonium Conference (University of Iowa)

Brandon Smith - First Place Winner, Arnold Jacobs Mock Tuba Audition

2018 Southeast Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference (Florida State University)

Colby Hollingsworth - Finalist, Solo Tuba Artist Competition

Ian McCollum - Second Place, Solo Euphonium Artist Competition

FSU Tuba/Euphonium Quartet (Harrison Brown, Chris Martin, Sheldon Martin, Ian McCollum) - Second Place, Chamber Music Competition



Harrison Brown - Sewanee Music Festival

Austin Thornton - Eastern Music Festival


Ian Graves - Eastern Music Festival

Daniel Mentzer - Sewanee Music Festival


Harrison Brown - Sewanee Music Festival



Jesse McConnell - Winner, Northwest Florida Symphony Orchestra Substitute Tuba Audition 

Brandon Smith - Semifinalist, Louisville Orchestra Principal Tuba Audition; Finalist, The Florida Orchestra Principal Tuba Audition

Jonah Zimmerman - Semifinalist, United States Air Force Ceremonial Band Euphonium Audition



AJ Arcia (BME 2019) - Appointed Director of Bands, Paxon School for Advanced Studies, Jacksonville, FL

Harrison Brown (BM 2020) - Accepted with scholarship to MM studies at New England Conservatory

Turner Gray (BA 2019) - Accepted with scholarship for MM studies at Northwestern University; Accepted with graduate assistantship for MM studies at Washington State University

Ian Graves (MM 2020) - Accepted with scholarship for DMA studies at the University of Miami

Chris Martin (BM 2018) - Accepted with teaching fellowship for DMA studies at the University of North Texas

Sheldon Martin (BME 2019) - Appointed Assistant Director of Bands, Lake Nona High School, Orlando, FL

Spencer Oyster (BME 2020) - Appointed Director of Bands, Marathon Middle/High School, Marathon, FL

Justin Snively (BME 2020) - Appointed Director of Bands and Orchestra, Stone Magnet Middle School, Melbourne, FL


Colby Hollingsworth (BME 2018) - Appointed Director of Bands, Heritage High School, Palm Bay, FL

Stephen Mayo (BME 2019) - Appointed Associate Director of Bands, Choctawhatchee High School, Fort Walton Beach, FL

Ian McCollum (DM 2019) - Appointed Lecturer of Tuba and Euphonium, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Jonathan Sims (BME 2019) - Appointed Director of Bands and Orchestra at Hillsborough High School, Tampa, FL


Elyse Frezza (BME 2018) - Appointed Music Teacher, Pride Elementary School, Deltona, FL

Chris Martin (BM 2018) - Accepted with scholarship for MM studies at the University of North Texas

Each year, we host several distinguished guest artists for recitals and master classes. These guests have included:



Chris Blaha, University of Akron

Tim Buzbee, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Scott Cameron, The United States Army Field Band (retired)

Mark Jenkins, The "President's Own" United States Marine Band

Don Little, University of North Texas

John Manning, University of Iowa

Tom McCaslin, Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra

Steven Mead, International Solo Artist and Royal Northern Conservatory of Music

David Saltzman, Toledo Symphony Orchestra

Ryan Robinson, Oklahoma State University

Michael Roylance, Boston Symphony Orchestra and New England Conservatory of Music

Ben Vasko, Valdosta State University



Canadian Brass

Aubrey Foard, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Adam Frey, University of North Georgia

Thomas Leleu, International Solo Artist

Daniel Rowland, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Justin Stowe, The 282nd United States Army Band


Presidio Brass

Fritz Kaenzig, University of Michigan

Alex Lapins, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Charles Villarrubia, University of Texas at Austin


Axiom Brass

Austin Howle, Montreal Symphony Orchestra

Jarrett McCourt, New World Symphony

Kazuhiro Nakamura, Osaka College of Music

Bill Pritchard, Amplituba

David Zerkel, University of Georgia

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube